Choose domain name

Caleb Donnelly

Hi everybody, newbie here,
I would like to buy a domain name for selling services.
As I am new to this, I have a few questions:
1) I've found 2 domain names that look interesting (to me, at least). I cannot find any information about them on waybackmachine. For one of them (domain A) I cannot find any information on whois websites either. For the other one (domain B), I can see on whois that it was last registered back in 2020. All else being equal, I would prefer to buy domain B, but I can't find any information about its "past". Lets say that domain B was involved in spam or other bad actions. Would it still be penalized after 4 years?
2) When I buy a domain, should I buy it as a private person (name, personal payment), or as a company (my newly created company)?
3) Lets say I would buy 2 or 3 domains for websites in the same category/niche, would it be ok to let google know that I own all of them? I understand that maybe linking from one to another would not increate their ranking, but would google penalize them? So basically having a few websites (same niche but for different audiences) linking to main website for traffic, not for ranking.
4) Is it ok to use gmail to register to namecheap or hostinger to buy domains? I am thinking that maybe if later I would decide to buy a few domains for a PBN, google could see that I own the domains by "reading" my gmail emails?
5) If I am not in a hurry to buy my "main" domain, should I wait and try to find one at an auction or to use a drop catch domain service? So should I spend a little more for a domain that would help me rank better than a new domain?
Thank you.

Dolores Luettgen

Lets say that domain B was involved in spam or other bad actions. Would it still be penalized after 4 years?